Golden Rule Lightkeepers Volunteer Award

You are here

It’s time to nominate a special volunteer for the annual Golden Rule Lightkeeper Awards. United Way of Onslow County along with The Daily News has once again teamed up to highlight the amazing volunteers we have in Onslow County! Nominees can be an individual or group who has provided outstanding service to Onslow County through volunteering in the last 12 months. Volunteers will be recognized late February in the following categories: Youth, Adult, Education, and Group.

Please click on the link below to make a nomination. 

The deadline to submit a nomination is January 10, 2020.



Here is a list of past winners and runner-ups for the Lightkeepers awards since the program’s creation in 2012.

Adult Group winners:

  • Navy-Marine Corps Relief Society

  • U.S. Coast Guard Special Mission

  • Continuum Hospice Volunteers

  • Sleeping Mats Mission Volunteers

  • The Beasley Family

  • Onslow Community Outreach Soup Kitchen Volunteers

  • Howard Funk, Sam Bright & John Kopka

  • Navy Marine Corps Relief Society Volunteers

  • Russell Eve & Cassandra Humbert

  • Onslow Literacy Council Volunteer Tutors

  • Dr. Jim & Dr. Virginia Wilson

  • Jacksonville/Onslow Crimestoppers

  • Christmas Cheer Eligiblilty & Admin Groups

  • Home Delivered Meal Drivers

Adult Individual winners:

  • Dr. Wade Turlington

  • Annie Chivers

  • Charles Kimbrough

  • Samuel Potter

  • Collette Boyd

  • Holly Coffer

  • Dr. Bob Turlington

  • Helen Miller

  • Preston Taylor

  • Grethel Humphrey

  • Anna Marie Cancelli

  • Joshua Eudy

  • Tim Moore

  • Devon Wheeler

  • William “Bill” Hines

  • Judy Murphy

Youth Group winners:

  • Justin & Jeffery Condry

  • Onslow Memorial Hospital VolunTeens

Youth Individual winners:

  • Zachary Cushine

  • Michele McCauley

  • Carol Ann Schwarzenbach

  • Andrei Yournet

  • Elizabeth Nowlin

  • Dan Linh Ngueyn

  • Reina Abruzzo

  • Juliette Desmarais

  • Onslow Memorial Hospital VolunTeens

  • Ryan Warren

  • River Toler

Education winners:

  • Cathy Burns

  • Alicia Alford

  • Dawn Jensen

  • Shanta “Tae” Cooks

  • John Papurca

  • Donna Gargett

  • Anne-Marie Brummer

  • Shyrissa Dobbins-Harris

  • Kathleen Canby